Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, scientific studies have played an essential role in human developments. Many people think that it must be governments’ responsibility for conducting and managing them, rather than private sectors. I totally agree with this opinion due to a few reasons.

Firstly, I suppose governments have to take the leading role in doing scientific projects because scientific activities often require long-term efforts, significant financial funds and the participation of hundreds or even thousands of researchers. As a result, the power and resources of the authorities enable them to conduct studies on a much larger scale and investment, compared to private firms. This is because authorities can finance more money and adopt other supportive measures, some of which are offering additional welfare and the positions in governments to the scientists, thus attracting more talents and experts to take part in the projects.

Secondly, I believe scientific researches controlled by authorities are more safe, advantageous and reliable. At first, governments will ensure doing ethical projects, which leads to minimizing the risk of these studies being used for criminal activities. For example, studies related to chemical, biological and nuclear weapons must be carried out and supervised by governmental organizations to prevent high-tech crimes and protect the country’s security. Furthermore, governments are people-driven and impartial. Consequently, they tend to pay more attention to research areas that can benefit society as a whole. Studies related to environmental issues or crime rates are great examples. In contrast, private companies are money-oriented. Therefore, they tend to invest in research projects that are more profitable. In addition, when the funding comes from a private organization, the results could be biased to ensure there is a favorable outcome for the funding institution.

In conclusion, although private companies should not be deprived of the right to do researches, I firmly believe that scientific studies must be conducted and monitored by governments.