New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, children have spent more and more of their leisure time on new high-tech devices because of the appearance of modern technologies. In my opinion, this trend brings more benefits to children than drawbacks.

On the one hand, new technologies may badly affect children in more than one way. Firstly, the kids who keep their eyes glued to the screens too much would suffer from many diseases, some of which are short-sighted, diabetes or inaccurate development in bones. Furthermore, overusing devices such as televisions, smartphones or computers means that children have less time playing outside and doing exercises. This leads to an unhealthy lifestyle that will do more harm than good for them in their later lives owing to lack of communication skills and poor health. Finally, the internet is a place with many things that children should not have been allowed to see yet, such as pornography and violent material. But children can easily find out these harmful videos and images if they are permitted to surf the internet freely. Things like these influences their mental development in a dangerous way.

On the other hand, despite those obvious bad effects, I strongly believe that the disadvantages are overshadowed by the benefits. Technological advances will be utilized for many purposes providing countless help for children. First of all, watching films, cartoons or listening to music would be a useful way to reduce stress and relax for children after a hard day at school. Secondly, computers have played a vital role in education today. They assist the children’s talents, like computer-related skills, to be discovered and developed early. They inspire children to spend their leisure time on broadening their knowledge. In addition, the internet is utterly advantageous to search for any information due to the fact that it is really fast and convenient. As are a result, it is a helpful tool for children to attain better learning outcomes. Finally, the Internet encourages and gives children numerous opportunities to make friends from all over the world by means of using social networks like Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

In conclusion, I have a strong belief that the advantages of modern technologies can outweigh their disadvantages in terms of changing the way children use their spare time.