It is difficult for people in the cities getting enough physical exercise. What are the causes and solutions?

It has been widespread knowledge that a sedentary lifestyle is often associated with numerous deadly diseases, putting hundreds of millions of individuals’ lives at risk. Despite this, urban dwellers find it almost impossible to get an adequate workout to stay in shape. While several triggers are lying behind this problem, many reliable methods can be applied to tackle it.

On the one hand, this disturbing reality is rooted in two main reasons. To begin with, it is due to the work commitment that workers cannot get enough physical exercise. Metropolises have always been a great attraction in terms of job opportunities and living conditions to job seekers and dwellers. However, in such places, to find a well-paying job is usually a daunting and challenging task, let alone to secure career prospects. Thus, employees must devote themselves to their career and burn the midnight oil, leaving no spare time for other activities, including physical exercise. Besides, technology addiction has driven city dwellers out of taking exercise. In today’s digital age, individuals tend to indulge in virtual entertainment such as online games because of its visual and mental satisfaction. Since such virtual activities are thought to be highly addictive and time-consuming, the more time they spend on them, the more dependent they become and therefore the more likely they are to neglect other leisure activities, such as physical ones.

On the other hand, however, there are still many feasible solutions to this issue. First, governing bodies do need to introduce new laws and directives on working time which reduce the weekly working hours to an acceptable amount. By doing so, working staff will have more time for leisure pursuits, increasing the probability that people will join in physical activities, which, in turns, improves work-life balance. Second, developing and integrating new software that encourages users to take exercise can also help alleviate such a problem. For instance, many android applications are functioning as a personal assistant that reminds users about when to take exercise as well as measures their heart rate, anticipating any health-related issues. Thus, these applications can perhaps help raise users’ awareness about the necessity of taking exercise and develop a habit of a regular workout.

In conclusion, though it may have several root causes of this trouble, various attainable measures can be taken to eradicate it. Tough as it might seem for some citizens at first, the outcomes of such methods worth efforts.