Some people say that the increasing business and cultural contact between countries is a positive development, while other people think that other countries will lose their national identities as a result. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views in terms of whether the growing global trade activities and interactions among countries is advantageous, or such development is the culprit behind the degradation of cultural identity in many countries.

On the one hand, many people think that national identity can disappear if cultural and business bonding among countries are strengthened. This is because the constant stream of marketing campaigns by international firms has led to the dominance of foreign eating habits and fashion trends, whereas indigenous lifestyles and languages become less favorable among young generations. Therefore, they could try to imitate those foreign cultures and languages blindly and change their traditional ways of life. Thus, a large number of minority languages are on the edge of extinction as their people prefer to communicate in widely used languages like English or Chinese. Taking a look back in the history of humankind, plenty of distinct civilizations are assimilated and vanished, starting with the loss of their own language.

On the other hand, numerous individuals have a belief that the growing cross-cultural communication and economic cooperation is a beneficial process. They presume that globalization has boosted economic development and has created a better intercultural understanding on a global scale. Firstly, this helps people all over the world purchase and sells products at a competitive price, promoting productivity and improving the economy. It can also generate more employment opportunities for locals. Secondly, culture exchange allows people to have more contacts with others from different backgrounds, which could eliminate misunderstandings between countries. Therefore, conflicts can be effectively avoided, and this helps to build a harmonious world.

From my point of view, both arguments are the true reflections about the possible consequences of an increasing economic and cultural interaction among nations. It boosts economic integration and speeds up modernization but also creates tensions between global culture and a country’s national identity. Therefore, we should take the initiative in fighting to protect our distinct culture and identity from being submerged by other cultural or economic influences.

In conclusion, the rising international trade has many positive influences on the global economy and world peace. However, its negative impacts on national identities cannot be neglected.