Nowadays, people are having a longer life expectancy than before thanks to developments in medical technology and health care systems, among many other factors. As this trend continues, in the future, we can expect the number of old people will be much greater than that of young people. Although society may benefit from a growing proportion of senior citizens, I believe this is a negative trend considering the risks of a serious label crisis.

On the one hand, an increase in the number of old people means a greater pool of volunteers for community and government projects. These people are usually more financially comfortable and therefore more willing to contribute free labor to ameliorating their communities. For example, we often witness old people in developed countries engage in charity work to provide shelter and food for the homeless in their neighborhoods. Such an act also instills a great sense of responsibility and altruism into the young generation. This is, in fact, globally recognized to be advantageous in a world where selfishness hinders one from taking action for the sake of others.

On the other hand, the aging population will place the whole world under many pressures. Both governments and businesses will have to pay for increased retirement pensions and health care costs, which means taxpayers will have to bear a greater financial burden and the young workforce have to work harder and care for the elderly at the same time. In addition to that, lack of childlike hands would cause stagnation for individual businesses and the global economy as a whole because little innovation may take place in this circumstance. As a matter of fact, many first countries are already experiencing these undesirable impacts, especially Japan.

In conclusion, in spite of relatively minor benefits, the aging population is a negative development considering the increased risk of economic crisis. Governments should take resolute actions to reduce its future influences and advance timely methods.