It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

People around the world now have a longer life compare to the past due to the rising on the growth of science and medical. This trend is not restricted especially in developed nations. In my opinion, I think this is expected despite its drawbacks.

The highly percentage of older people brings to the governments issues that need to solve. More old people means more diseases and the government is responsible for them, it leads to the demand on the investment of the medical and health system, such as construction and furnishing of more hospitals. The result is a heavy burden on taxpayer. In addition, as aged people do not work, they slow down the productivities. It creates heavy pressure on the youth generation, they have to work harder, take care of old people. For instant, Japanese’s elderly proportion is high but due to the rising, the time for working is quite long and not much time for leisure activities.

However, longevity symbolizes for the society progress. They reflect the advances on medical and the high technology of the countries. Foreign people normally base on this standard in order to make a judgement and get attention. In the same hand, the aged people gain rich experience which is very valuable to the next generations. The youth might learn a lot of things from the elderly who bring a numberous of knowledge. In particular, they react less failing and we can also see that it is a big advantage.

To sum up, although high elderly proportion leads to some problems, the aged people are a huge advantage for countries.