It is generally believed that education is of vital importance to the development of
individuals and the well-being of societies. What should education consist of to fulfil both
these functions?
It is irrefutable that education is of crucial significance to the progress of people and
societies. It has been well said that – ‘Education is a companion which, no future can
depress, no crime can destroy, no enemy can alienate and no nepotism can enslave.’
In the following paragraphs I shall discuss how education can benefit individuals and
societies.
First of all education should impart professional knowledge. Such knowledge enables
individuals to earn a livelihood. In this way they are benefited themselves and also they can
look after their families better. This leads to better societies because an educated society is
a crime free society. People are self-sufficient and so do not need to go on the path of
crime.
Physical education should also be provided by a well-rounded education. It is a well known
fact that healthy individuals would make a healthy society. Good health is a basic human
need and for the holistic development of individuals, physical education should be
incorporated in school curricula.
Education should also teach moral values. This makes us adaptive to society. There is less
violence and less crime in society is there if people are educated. They become more open
minded and live in harmony with each other. Moral science should be a compulsory subject
till high school level.
Finally, today environmental education is the need of the hour. All schools should have
mandatory lessons on saving the environment. Small steps can go a long way in saving
energy. Energy saved is energy generated. We all have to do away with some luxuries if we
want a better tomorrow.
In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that education should have professional, physical,
moral and environmental education. After all, ‘Education is not the filling up of a pail but the
lighting up of a fire’. A well-rounded education consisting of all the above components
would benefit both the individual and the society.