In companies, promotions to high positions should be given to employees inside the company and not to somebody outside the company or new hiring. Do you agree or disagree with this view

Today every organization complete to become the top performer. To achieve this, they require the best person to run the company. Few people say that to fill the top position in an organization it's better to hire a new talent from outside whereas, other few people argue that in-house employees are best to do this job. I agree that an inside employee will be a better option than an outsider.

Firstly, it is important for higher level position employee to know what talent his colleague brings to the firm. This knowledge can be ascertained only if the person had previously worked with those staffs. In fact, this can help him to decide who is the best person to head each department. For example, when Sundar Pichai became the CEO of Google his first task was to restructure his department heads. Since he was already employed with Google in you who had the best of talent among all employees. In order to work as a team, it is important to know what talent their subordinates have.

Secondly, every company has a different work culture. A new employee takes time to adapt to the new work culture and other aspects of an organization. Whereas, an in-house employee is already accustomed to the company policies and culture. Even the best of talents fail to perform when their work environment changes. For example, Nokia had hired a new CEO who had tons of experience and great talent. Even though he was the best of talents he could not adjust to the new work culture and had resigned immediately. In such a scenario, if an insider was selected to this post such complications could have been avoided since he is fully aware of companies’ culture and policies.

To conclude, recruiting an individual for the top position is an imperative decision. Each company has different culture and talents, an internal staff would be aware of these and will handle the responsibilities better