Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as
money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save
these traditions. Discuss on both sides and give your opinion.
t is irrefutable that cultural traditions attract tourists from all over the world and develop
local economy. Some individuals are of the opinion that these may be destroyed if they are
modified to attract tourists. Others, however, hold the view that if we don’t use them for
tourism, they will die. In the following paragraphs, I shall discuss both sides of the argument.
We have to make these cultural traditions alluring for tourists because we need tourists.
Firstly, tourism boosts our economy and secondly we get a chance to spread our culture to
different countries. If our artists and artisans do not earn money from their art, which
depicts our culture and tradition, then this art will die off and we’ll only be the losers.
Tourism is the backbone of any country’s economy and every country does their effort to
attract tourists. Many people depend on tourism for their livelihood. People in the food
industry, hotel industry and transport industry depend on tourism. Presentation is very
important to attract visitors and to present nicely, some change is inevitable.
On the other hand, when cultural traditions are used as money-making attractions, they
lose their original features. Sometimes it makes cultural traditions disappear altogether.
However, I believe that culture and tradition are deep rooted and minor superficial changes
cannot harm them in any way. Change is the law of nature and all we should look into is that
the changes are made with caution to retain the inherent elements of culture.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, to save cultural traditions we need to make
some changes to make them alluring to the tourist of today. If we don’t do so we’ll lose our
cultural traditions altogether and we’ll lose our tourists also.