Nowadays education quality is very low. Some people think we should encourage our
students to evaluate and criticise their teachers. Others believe that it will result in a loss
of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss on both sides.
It is a highly debated issue whether students should evaluate their teachers after each
course. Some people believe the system has many advantages to the students and the
teachers. Others argue that it would lead to poor discipline in the classroom. Indeed,
evaluation of teachers by students has both pros and cons.
There are many drawbacks in student assessment. First of all, students are very young and,
compared with their teachers, are less knowledgeable both in theory and practice on a
subject. Therefore, they are unable to evaluate their teachers’ performance in a sound way.
Secondly, student assessment would lead to poor discipline in the classroom. If each of the
students is allowed to comment on the teacher’s performance, then there would be chaos
in the classroom. Thirdly, in order to gain a better evaluation, teachers would seek to please
the students and not bother about the content of their lectures. This would harm the
students’ academic performance in the long run.
However, advocates of student assessment have their reasons. Firstly, this kind of feedback
can be used to improve teachers’ performance. Teaching methods can only be successful if
they are student-centered. Therefore, listening to the students’ constructive suggestions,
teachers will have a better idea of what students’ needs are and can then adjust their
teaching to meet them. Secondly, the process of writing evaluations will help the students
think in their own way independently. Students should be encouraged to learn by even
challenging their teachers’ thinking. Thirdly, it would help the administrators. Teachers who
provide good educational services could be retained and others could be laid off. So, all
teachers would strive to do their best. This would be a win-win situation for all.
In my opinion, student evaluations of teachers would be beneficial to both teachers and
students. Of course, the evaluations must be done responsibly, but when the students feel
that their views are important and are listened to, I think they will do their best to
contribute to the improvement in education.