Nowadays, people get information through news and papers, but meanwhile are
uncertain about the truth of these news. Should we believe the journalists? What
qualities should a good journalist or correspondent have?
News and newspapers are an indispensable part of our everyday life because they keep us
connected with the outside world. This essay shall discuss whether or not we should believe
the journalists and also explain the characteristics of a good journalist.
We have to believe the journalists because they are our only source of information. But, we
should take it all with a pinch of salt. Sometimes they may spread ill-founded news just to
sell their papers. On the whole, they are doing great service to us. They are a link between
the government and the people. They shape our opinions. They make us feel part of this
global village by keeping us in touch with it and at times they even provide justice. For
example, in the Jessica murder case, it was because of the effort of these journalists that a
politician’s son got punishment and Jessica’s family got justice.
A good journalist should have many qualities. First of all, he should promote the truth and
not rumours of ill founded news. Only authenticated news should be given. Secondly, he
should be unbiased and not favour any group or political party. He should not hurt the
sentiments of any particular community. This is very important in a pluralistic (multicultural
and multi-religious) society like India. He should also have excellent communication skills.
Furthermore, a good journalist should be versatile – he has to cover varied fields such as
sports, business, entertainment and politics. He should always be on his toes because you
never know when the sky is going to fall. Finally, he should be bold and brave because he
has to handle tough situations. For instance, during the 26th November terrorist attack at
Mumbai, it was these journalists who brought us the first-hand news.
To conclude, I pen down saying that we have to believe the journalists because
they bring us the latest news and a good journalist should be a multifaceted personality.