The advantages brought by the spread of English as a “global language” will outweigh the
disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?
English has become the lingua franca in many parts of the world. Because of this, I agree
with the given statement that the spread of English as an international language will have
more pros than cons.
Second, English is easier to learn than any other language. Unlike Chinese, for example,
English has only 26 alphabets which are combined to make words and sentences. It is easy
even for non-native speakers to read written English. In addition, a number of English words
have been borrowed from many other languages, and many English words have been
adopted by many languages and are used as part of their own languages. Therefore, many
people in different countries already know some of the English. So, it could be the easiest
language to learn.
Furthermore, it is the language of global business and also jobs. It is the language of
technology. You can make the best use of internet if you know English as many websites are
written in English. Knowledge of English makes travel easier. There would also be no need of
expensive translations. Finally, English will be the most promising language. Since English is
used in many fields such as economics, politics, and academics, more and more people will
study English in the future. If you have an international meeting in any field, it will probably
be done in English. The demand of English will never stop.
As every garden has weeds, there would be some disadvantages also. Many people fear that
local languages would die out and with that, local cultures would die out because language
and culture are inter-related. Moreover, it is bound to be divided into dialects.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, there are more advantages than
disadvantages of English as a global language. Its popularity and demand will increase more
and more in the future.