It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that nowadays some well-known players and artists show great talents when they were almost five years old or even younger. But some claim that without gifts, children can also become excellent in sports and music.

To begin with, kids with talents in music and sport perform significantly better than those without talents in their early ages. For instance, Lang lang, a famous pianist, could play simple songs using his little fingers and recognize different pitch when he was just three years old. Then he won the national prize before middle school. Another example is Yao Ming. At the age of 10, Yao was almost 170 centimeters tall, incredibly taller than his peers. In the following years, his height rose to over two meters, becoming the tallest one in the basketball team . Though he could not run as fast as others in the competition, he could be the MVP with the most points due to his height. Thus, those who are gifted in their fields can succeed more easily than those without any talent.

However, some contend that talents are not crucial and anyone can become a successful musician or sports player. Kids, though not talented, can also succeed in playing different kinds of songs when they start learning at an early age. And with the best coach, children can be trained to be professional runners.

In my opinion, the talent is an indispensable part for a real successful athlete or a musician. Sports champions require extraordinary talents because all competitors devote the same time to practicing, but many professional athletes own special talents like perfect endurance or stronger leg muscles which cannot be taught. Meanwhile, musicians' sense of music can be vital and that feeling derives from their mind which can not be taught, either.