It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Learning ethics and essential skills to differentiate between good and bad is necessary for every human in their early stages but I completely disagree with the notion that punishment is necessary to help them acquire this distinction.

Few reasons supporting my opinion are, firstly children are benign so punishment can result in creating an atmosphere of fear inside them which will ultimately hamper their curiosity. In the beginning, penalizing can give positive result but if the practice of punishing became permanent then the child will become stiff and get used to it as a consequence of which feeling of isolation may emerge in the child and can also result in a bad relationship with parents in growing ages of child. Secondly, although punishment gives faster results those aren’t useful meaning the child will only learn those lessons because of fear but can’t implement it in real-life scenarios as he only remembered those lessons rather understanding its real meaning and use. So even if he is made forced to remember, he can’t use it in his real-life when the time comes.

Sometimes punishment is also necessary for children because if a child is raised only with love and affection it is likely that he will become arrogant and behave badly with others as he will lack fear of his parents. To stop a child from acquiring bad morals, stop him from leading a wrong path, and teach him discipline parents need to sentence a punishment according to the situation.

So to sum up, even though punishment isn’t the best way to teach or make children learn discipline but sometimes it is necessary too for their better future.