It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is said that punishing children teaches them how to differentiate between bad and good. Personally, I agree this idea to some extent and I believe that guardians and educators should adopt suitable punishments for their children.

Despite some concerns, punishing is still an effective way to help correct one's misbehaviors. On the one hand, if children are punished harshly, there is a likelihood that they will develop a sense of fear and anxiety and hence become mentally unstable, which makes them unable to identify misdeeds. On the other hand, without proper discipline, children can keep misbehaving as they are too young to understand the outcomes of their misbehavior. For example, teenagers who use bad words often assume that they can curse as long as the adults continue to do so. Therefore, punishments are needed to emphasize the consequences of their misdeeds and hence prevent children from making the same mistakes.

It is necessary for parents and teachers to reprimand children with good reasoning. In other words, children can be explained clearly the reason why their behaviors are unacceptable. Additionally, parents should also punish their offspring in an encouraging way. An example for this is that children are not admissible to go out and play if they have not finished their homework or household chores. Another interesting way to punish children is giving punishments that are relevant to their wrongdoings. For example, a child who steal money from parents should have his or her monthly allowance cut temporarily.

In conclusion, I believe that proper discipline with good intention would definitely help children improve their ability to distinguish between right and wrong.