Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Since most household waste is often treated poorly, many people say that the authorities should make recycling obligatory for all citizens. Personally, while I agree that laws play an important role in encouraging people to recycle, it is also necessary to take up other measures as well.

It can not be denied that legal regulations increase the participation level of recycling. For example, Japan, which is one of the nations with the highest rate of recycling, is relatively well-known for its strict laws related to environmental protection. Not only do Japanese citizens have to grade their household waste into multiple types like organic, recyclable, combustive and so on but they are also required to pay a large sum of money either for a fine or the cost of treatment if they dispose of an excessive amount of waste. Therefore, people would follow the laws and start recycling so that they can avoid being fined heavily.

On the other hand, in order to effectively promote recycling, other measures should also be implemented simultaneously. Firstly, the authorities should carry out campaigns which raise people's awareness about recycling and give clear instructions on how to recycle. Without fully understanding its importance, it is likely that there will be disagreement between the governments and citizens. In this case, laws can not even be executed. Secondly, it is also important to establish waste treatment centres, which make the recycling process less difficult and challenging for people. By contrast, inadequate facilities can discourage recycling.

In conclusion, I believe that the implementation of laws only increases people's participation in recycling to some certain extent. In my opinion, it would be better to have campaigns and better recycling infrastructure as additional measures.