It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Teaching children to acknowledge basic distinctions of right and wrong is crucial at their early development stage. While some people claim that punishment is necessary for the process, I personally do not agree with such an idea, since a good teaching method does not necessarily include punishment.

To think that punishment is crucial to teach children basic moral conscience should be considered as a big mistake made by any parents. Children at a young age such as infants would not yet develop the ability to fully understand right and wrong. As a result, punishment, while cannot help much in developing the moral conscience in young children, can have reversed effects such as giving the child psychological scars. Research on strict teaching methods of Asian parents showed that children who had received strict punishment at an early age were more likely to have mental illnesses when they grew up.

Children’s ability to reason would develop over time as they grow up, therefore, a gentle approach would be better to teach children. Instead of punishing children, parents and grown-ups should behave as role models for them to look up to. In that way, children would learn about which action is acceptable and which is not. Adults should also point out the mistakes that children make and guide them to assert their behaviors to better next time.

Sometimes, punishment is unavoidable, but even under such circumstances, parents should not punish their children using strict methods. Instead, they can give the children a firm but fair punishment as a time-out, detention, or withdrawal of privileges. The punishment should also be related to the mistake that children make such as making the child put the trash in the garbage if they drop it out, making the child clean the wall when they doodles, and so on. This would help children realize the consequences of their actions and try to fix their behavior for better next time.