It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is argued that punishment should be applied to children to let them learn how to differentiate between right and wrong in the early years of their lives. I somewhat agree with this viewpoint because punishments can sometimes have positive effects on children and should be allowed to use, this essay will also show the kind of punishment that both parents and teachers had better impose on teaching good behavior to children.

On the one hand, punishment is essential to help them learn discrimination between right and wrong things for a combination of reasons. First, the punishment could make them raise awareness of behaving. For instance, once a child has wrong-doings such as disobeying or telling a lie, the instant actions from adults are vital for them to realize their mistakes and eliminate bad behaviors. Another compelling reason is that children are at the age when we need to help them form their personalities. One such example of this is the teenage boys who bully disadvantaged kids at school. Without punishment, those boys will become a dangerous part of society and maintain disrespecting low-income families. Therefore, the punitive measures help them recognize whether their action is right or not and increase their self-discipline.

On the other hand, parents and teachers should choose appropriate punishments for teaching children’s behavior. Children at a young age can be very rebellious, so harsh corporal punishments such as scolding and spanking will affect negatively children’s mental and physical health. Instead, parents can use mild punishments, for instance, doing housework or reducing children’s pocket money, and at the same time educate them about why they receive the punishments. Similarly, teachers should require them to write self-examination to education classroom’s disciplines or submit more homework. Hence, these methods are unlikely to hurt them mentally and physically and make them rebel more.

In conclusion, I believe that although punishment is a significant way to educate children on how to differ right and wrong, it needs to be chosen carefully when used.