It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is sometimes argued that punishment should be imposed on children so that they differentiate between right or wrong in the early years of their lives. While I accept that punishment can sometime have positive effects on children and therefore should be applied, I believe that parents and teachers should choose proper ways to punish their children.

It it understandable why some people support the opinion that punishment could change the awareness of children. The key rational here is that punishment is vital for children to realize their mistakes and eliminate bad behaviour when they have wrong-doing such as disobeying or telling a lie. Furthermore, parents could give their children warning of light physical punishment ig they are too stubborn. For instance, when i skipped class at primary school, my mother asked me to walk to school rather than take a bus and do chores for a week. This not only helped me realize truancy is improper but also increase my self-discipline.

However reasonable the idea that punishment is necessary to help children is, I am convinced that parents and teachers should choose appropriate ways to teach good behaviour to children. Harsh corporal punishment should not used because the affect negative children's psychology, such as metal disorders and deep depression and pose a threat to their physical health. Instead, parents can opt for educational punishment such as doing housework, setting the limit recreational time, or reducing allowance to avoid money-wasting for useless activities. Teachers, similarly, should not reinforce corporal punishment or humiliation but alternatively require them to write their wrongs to educate them about classroom's discipline or submit more homework.

In conclusion, why it is justifiable that punishment is of significance to educate children on how to distinguish right from wrong, I still believe that punishment are applied should carefully chosen.