It is important to have huge public spaces like parks and squares in towns and cities. Do you agree or disagree with the given statement?

There has been some discussion about the existence and the need of green or leisure spaces in urban areas. While many people believe that these open premises are essential, others insist that they can be useless, hence, must be converted to practical purposes. In my opinion, despite the voices against the parks and public places existence, I still believe in the great value of those to both cities and civilians.

From my standpoint, I still harbor a concern that public spaces such as squares have positive effects on our daily life. First of all, these places are always considered as the heart of cities where people can organize family meetings and do many outdoor activities in their leisure time. Beside that the creation of parks or squares comes from opinions that can provide ideal places for children and their parents to have a quality time after a hectic daily schedule. The increasing pollution of cities is a cause of great concern for the government and theirs citizens, therefore, places like parks and squares often provide relaxation to the old people. Moreover, those public spaces also abstract tourists because of the historical value behind their creations, so the government can afford a new way of industry. For instance, the Unification Park which is a symbol of peace, stability, and postwar development of Hanoi. As a result, it is absolutely imperative to conserve historical places for the future generations.

On the other hand, due to globalization and urbanization, cities are getting crowded and lacking places to build public and commercial centres. In detaily described, a new transportation system coming to the areas requires a large space to build and operate. Take one example, New York was planned nearly 200 years ago and the roads in the city were small and narrow which were built only for carts not cars or even buses. Later, NY authorities converted many historical parks and gardens into parking stations and highways. Consequently, this transformation was publicly criticized by civilians and other town planners. Therefore, destroying parks and other public spaces for current benefits is not the solution for space management in cities .

To conclude, big public grounds have many benefits to our daily life, especially for the future generations. Cities are facing a lot of pressure to develop a substantial infrastructure for the growing population, but this cannot be allowed at the cost of parks and squares, consequently, it is completely indispensable to have huge public grounds in every city.