It is important for travellers and business people to understand the cultures they come into contact with, however briefly. What are the main advantages of doing so? What do you think is the main disadvantage of not doing so?

For voyagers and money managers, comprehending the way of life they visit is undoubtedly essential, anyway momentarily. In this essay, I will outline the pros of doing it, and the cons of not doing it.

On the one hand, understanding a country’s national identity brings a wide range of benefits. Firstly, it tremendously helps people avoid culture shock and other culture-related problems. For example, in communication, while Western individuals tend to speak directly to the issue, the Eastern has a tendency to beat around the bush, it can be understood that they do not want to offend others by words. As a result, when speaking to people from the East, they may feel uncomfortable, eventually frustrated.

In addition, getting a deeper insight into the cultures of the markets helps business firms increase sales and maximize profit. For businessmen and businesswomen, when they want to run a profit and expand sales into other states, they must know what people in that country are interested in. For instance, selling clothes such as bodysuits or miniskirts for females in religious regions is believed to be impossible as governments of these nations do not accept citizens to wear them.

However, if travellers and business people are lack of understanding cultures and traditions, cultural misconceptions can occur. Accordingly, in the USA, it is common to give a kiss as a way of greeting, on the contrary, this is unacceptable for Vietnamese, instead, they do handshaking or bow their head.

In conclusion, it is necessary for visitors and business managers to adapt to the host country’s cultures and customs if they want to enjoy their trips and run a profitable business. By doing so, discrimination and misunderstanding will decline, the economies will grow.