Should the international community do more to tackle the threat of global warming?

There has been a controversy about who should solve the danger of global warming. Some environmentalists suggest that this issue should have the involvement of international community, while some politicians oppose to the suggestion and put forward that each country should deal with global warming alone. In my opinion, I completely agree that the international community should take part in tackling the warning of global warming.

Ealier researches show that some risk factors which are related to climate change may be overstated. Sea levels now are thought to rise by one metre, contrary to two metres like some scientists’ views. This is because some glaciers and ice sheets seem to be contracting, such as Arctic, while others appear to be expanding, Antarctic, for example. In addition, gulfstream is thought to be unlikely to vanish.

However, those researches do not mean that global warming is not a serious problem since its consequences have been seen obviously. For instance, the acreage of tropical forests is believed to be vulnerable to drought more than ever. Besides, hurricanes and typhoons are now more severe. Not only environment, people’s health are also affected by global warming. It leads to heat-related illnesses and death, and spread of infectious diseases. Therefore, greater efforts should be made to protect inhabitants and environment from global warming.

In conclusion, it is irresponsible to do nothing about global warming. In spite of the good news of aforementioned factors, which are overstated, global warming continues to be a concern. To solve the problem, international community is considered to be more believed than government.