Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives.

In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

With the tremendous advancement of health care, older people are believed to have a more active live than in the past. In my opinion, older generation can make contribution to their society, and I will outline two common areas that they can participate in.

The first area is to involve in special family’s occasions. Since the elderly are experienced in traditions that are passed by through generations, family members can absorb more knowledge about the recipes of traditional meals, traditional games, for example. Therefore, traditions will be preserved and the members will feel their lives are more complete. On the other hand, children can understand more about their country’s history through stories told by grandparents. In fact, gathering whole family members together increases happiness.

Another area is senior citizens can participate in work, regardless of part-time or full-time. A number of professions such as: teaching, research, mentoring, and writing require experienced people, hence, older people can contribute in these jobs. In addition, because grown-up people nowadays have been forced to work overtime, they do not have much time to take care of their children. Thanks to their healthy parents, they will not worry about who should look after their kids. Once grandparents take great care of their grandchildren, family strength can be tied.

In conclusion, it is true that quality health care and medical services have raised life’s expectancy. I firmly believe that older people still can make great contribution to societies by reportedly preserving country’s culture, taking care of children, even taking part in important professions.