It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the role of the local history is more crucial than that of the world history in school curriculum. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement because they are equally necessary for students.

On the one hand, local history has played an indispensable part in education. Firstly, it gives students a sense of patriotism and pride of their origin and the glorious milestones in national history. For example, children in Vietnamese schools are taught how their ancestors fought for the independence of the country. Therefore, they are likely to appreciate more the life they have today. Secondly, it is students' privilege as well as their responsibility to know about the local history. This might enable them to understand traditional values and identity.

However, i believe that world history shares the equal importance as local one. Due to the fact that the world has become globalized and many countries bear a resemblance in history, learning world history can be serve as a way to reinforce the relationship among countries. Besides, it is obvious that various events in the history of a country happened as a result of the world's background. For instance, that Vietnam gained its independence in 1945 relates to a series of events in the World War II especially the surrender of Japan. By this way, students are likely to have a deep insight into many aspects of life which will be helpful for them in the future.

In conclusion, it is incomparable the significance of the domestic and international history because both of them have their own meaning and role.