It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Local history and world history

Some individuals argue that local history plays more important role than world history in studying programs in schools. However, I believe that both kinds of history do wonders for students knowledge acquisition.

On the one hand, the history in local area can equip children with wide sources of information. First of all, through learning local history, they can understand not only contemporary but also lifestyle in the past. They can dig deeper in local cultures and traditions. For example, the lessons provided by history teachers in schools enable children evidences to explain the way people act and behave with each other. Furthermore, through learning local history, schools can raise the patriotism of students in their early ages. Each history book is composed by various historical experts before given to children and tend to provide summaries about victories of our ancestors battling against the enemies. This is a positive effect on children conscious about their own countries.

On the one hand, studying international history also exerts important impacts on children cognitive. Firstly, the way children imprinting the names of unfamiliar historical figures and specific dates helps the children train their brain. Thus, they can study better in other subjects. For example, the children who are good at remembering foreign names are regarded as being better at learning foreign languages and literature. Moreover, children can broaden their knowledge in cultures all over the world that allow them to integrate well if they have plan to study and work overseas.

In conclusion, I do believe that schools should offer both local history and world history in their courses.