In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. it is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In todays modern world, an increase in the amount of fast food consumed has a direct relationship with the health issues. I agree that imposing higher taxes on this kind of food plays an important role, governments should also adopt other method to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, higher taxes can do wonders for controlling the consumption of fast food. First of all, high taxes lead to higher prices of this product. This can influence on the budget of customers and prevent them from spending money on buying fast food. For example, in some country having high rate of obesity people, tax of fried chickens or pizza is up to 10% per portion that makes the demand decrease. Moreover, government can use these taxes to fund the medical researches. Medical experiments and trials to search for new drugs preventing the public from health issues are supposed to be expensive and need more efforts. This is why government should embark in this measurement.

On the other hand, imposing taxes might exert negative impacts on fast food industry. The first drawback is that to make high profits and cover the running costs, some stores tend to reduce the quality of their products that lead to more serious human being problems. The cut off their costs by reusing cooking oils many times and less fresh ingredients. For example, in big city such as Hanoi capital of Vietnam, it is easy to catch the seller using freeze meat to make fast food in many restaurants. In addition, there are some practical solutions for this problem instead of imposing taxes such as raising the awareness of people about nutrients and health effects of fast food, being environmentally friendly.

In conclusion, I agree that high taxes can be effective way to protect human being. However, we should embrace other method to raise people heath consciousness.