Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In todays modern world, there has been an increase in the number of private cars for more than 30 years that leads many cities suffering from serious traffic jam. The governments should adopt some measurements to tackle this problem.

Honestly, there are some convincing reasons why people prefer owing private cars. First of all, having your own car can do wonders for your lifestyle. It means that you can save time if you drive by yourselves. One more reason for this problem is the low quality of public transport service that makes the public gravitate to buy own vehicles, including car. However, rising the number of private cars has a direct relationship with traffic jams. In the peak hour, the flow of private cars accompanied by poor road infrastructure is the main reasons for congestions. For example, in Hanoi capital of Vietnam, it is easy for the public to be struck in high concentration of a congestion.

I believe that the policy makers should adopt some practical measurements to deal with this issue. The first method is imposing high taxes on car buyers. This method can boost the car price higher that exerts significant impacts on demanding of customers. For example, there are some special kind of taxes such as VAT which influences the purchasing decision-making process of buyers leading to the decrease in the number of private cars. Moreover, local authorities should implement road maintainances and public transportation frequently to adapt the high level of transport flow. Expanding roads, adequate traffic lights systems and opening more bus lines can be effective solutions for this situation,

In conclusion, in many countries, traffic jam is an urgent problem as the result of rising the number of private cars. I believe that governments should implement suitable measures to overcome this issue.