it is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought holds that young students should prioritize studying history of their own country rather than that of the world. I disagree with this notion for the reasons outlined below.

To begin with, it is understandable why some people put heavy emphasis on children learning about local history. Specifically, cultivating local historical legacies has never been inadequate, which lays foundations for further development of their country. Notwithstanding, this thinking is being unsuitable in the modern context which dedicates to rapid globalization, compared to the past, when cultural exchange was underestimated and interactions were confined to those who are of the same race and ethnicity. In case of having a good grasp of foreign countries' history, young citizens are likely to find it easier to respect cultural differences, which are the key to mutual understanding and cooperation among nations. Hence, It is sensible the schools should embed world history into their curriculum.

In addition to fostering an appreciation for cultural diversity, teaching schoolchildren about events which took place in other parts of the world can give them a more accurate and fair outlook on the history. In contrast, learning exclusively about nation history instill on individual a biased and negative feelings about people from other countries. For example, Vietnamese educational programs for students mostly describe the Vietnam war as a defense of Vietcong against extraterrestrial armies such as the US or France, which may mislead children that people from these countries are bad.

To brief, I would argue that leaning world history offers far more enormous benefits for schoolers rather than counterpart which focuses on national history.