It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the healthy problems have been receiving a great deal of public attention. Some people say that the government should allocate money to enhance a healthy lifestyle to encourage the prevention of illness rather than to treat patients. While I accept that the prevention of illness bring more benifts, I completely disagree this statement.

On the one hand, the government invests the large amount of public money in encouraging a healthy style that offers considerable benefits for their residents. First, since many diseases are the direct result of people’s unhealthy habits, people are becoming increasingly the health issues such as higher risk of contracting cardiovascular and obesity diseases. For instance, youngsters nowadays have a tendency to eat more junk and fast food than whole food, which affect seriously their health if eaten for a long time. Second, by being healthy style, people could save a lot of money in their life. In fact, there are a number of incureable diseases including HIV, AIDS and cancers, which spend the amount of money to prolong the life of patients contracting such diseases.

On the other hand, public money should also be allocated for the treatment of people who are already ill. First, due to the fact that some diseases are not likely to prevent, the government should spend it on treatment. For example, all countries in the world have still not had the vaccince to protect people, who are suffered from Corona virus, from that disease that except for the treatment. Second, there are some illnesses and disorders that are inherited, regardless of their diet or lifestyle. This means that both people and the government would be impossible to prevent. Therefore, the government needs to spend the amount of money on treatment patients.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that both spending money on promoting healthy lifestyle and treating people who are already ill are equally essential in protecting people from diseases.