It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Revolving around the issue of public healthcare system is the suggestion that using governmental revenue on encouraging a healthy way of life so as to restrict illness is more pivotal than spending it on curing ailing people. In my opinion, I am not in favor of this idea due to the fact that diseases can be attributed to peculiar origins and genetic defects.

On the one hand, it is understandable to put an emphasis on promoting an active and hygienic living conditions and behaviors as a prevention act from illnesses. Admittedly, there is a plethora of ailments stemming from lifestyle-related cause such as obesity or diabetes resulted from overeating of junk food and lack of physical activities. Therefore, it is a plausible approach to conduct campaigns raising awareness among the citizens about the significance of sensible diets and regular exercises for the sakes of citizens themselves as well as that of the public revenue. If less people are hospitalized, the pressure on the healthcare system will be greatly alleviated so that doctors and resources can be focused on treating patients with more severe syndromes.

On the other hand, a balanced lifestyle alone is not sufficient to sustain the well-being of the whole population since some people are prone to ailments because of numerous causes. First of all, a large number of citizens may contract unprecedented diseases with unrecognizable roots such as corona virus. In this case, hospitalization is inevitable as prevention schemes have not been developed. Moreover, other people are born with hereditary diseases which are unavoidable even with dietary cautions. As a result, it might be unjustifiable to center more on advocating a healthy lifestyle while disregarding the fact that wellness programs for those who are genetically unhealthy is critically important.

In conclusion, while spending governmental resources on initiating a balanced way of living for illness prevention is a brilliant idea, it should not be considered as more eminent than spending it on curing diseased residents.