It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. Dinosaurs, dodos …) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening.

Do you agree or disagree?

There are several controversial debates that conservation efforts for endangered animals are redundant, because extinction is a part of nature; however, human being has driven this rate more exponential than ever. As a result, it is a compelling responsibility for us to protect them.

Millions of years ago, it is a fact that wild species died out from a result of natural disasters, other species’ competitions, and the shortage of food supply. For instance, the dinosaurs were wiped out by meteorite or the mammoths were pushed to the edge of extinction by starving in an ice age; nevertheless, this process occurs slowly over hundreds or thousands of years until the appearance of human. The rate of loss has been rising to 100 species annually from just 10 per year. Looking closely at the courses, the wild has been poached for body parts and their habitats have been converted into farms, plants, and buildings. Moreover, alien predators are brought in, messing up food chain’s balance and pollution resulted from industrial development is also catastrophic for animal surroundings.

There is a justification for saving endangered species that each one plays a pivotal role not just in the eco-system but to our lives as well. For example, they could be the source for a new medicine against contagious plague and bear a sociocultural value, contributing to our rich bio-diversity. Also, similar to the arrival of foreign animals, food chain is disrupted if one becomes annihilated, which could drive a whole species to mass extinction.

Nowadays, the disappearance of wild animals is primarily and majorly led by our doings; thus, it is our obligation to pull out all the stops for preserving them.