International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

It is acknowledged that many tourist attractions have been granted a large number of rewarding perks in term of international tourism; however, an adverse impact has simultaneously influenced both the locals and their surroundings, which is quite inferior to overseas traveling’s upside.

A first glance at its noticeable merits, the first and most outstanding benefit is that tourism plays a pivotal role as one of the most profit-making industries in boosting a nation’s economy. For instance, the more sightseers visit, the highest the consumption in domestic goods is. Even more, employment prospects are wide open for residents living at these tourist spots, especially in regard to hospitality major. Another bonus is that when an economy is on its way becoming prosperous, government inevitably gets more financially lucrative income from their citizens’ taxes in order to facilitate facilities’ enhancement and innovation.

Shifting focus on the downside, there is always a high outbreak possibility regarding to menaces of disastrous plague. Taking an epidemic provoked by mutated Ebola virus as an example, its infection speed accelerated exponentially in 2014, which resulted in thorough inspection activities and intricate red tape for immigrating and traveling at all Europe’s airports and border gates. In addition, there has been an act of vandalism on historical relics, ancient ruins, and many destinations owning to bad public awareness from a minority of visitors. Some tourists tend to carve their name on antiques with a meaning that they were there as well as drop litter everywhere they set foot on.

Worldwide travel is of paramount significance for economic growth by increasing the demand on consuming domestic goods, opening a huge number of vacancies for local dwellers, and upgrading infrastructure. On the other hand, it poses a great threat to people’ health by contagious illness and causes environmental pressure. In a nut shell, international tourism brings a wide extent of strength overpowering its weakness.