It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that it would be beneficial to offer an excessive number of youngster tertiary education placement. In my opinion, this trend is advantageous however not feasible as will be discussed.

On the one hand, there are some benefits when universities admit a tremendous percentage of young learners. First, students will have chances to seek rewarding employment because they are able to acquire more knowledge about their major. Which means university enables them to attain an academic qualification which may support them in the future career. For example, in German or Finland, the unemployment rate is low owing to the fact that a high number of young learners are encouraged to attend university. Second, this trend will result in the increase in quality of labor force since more employees are well-educated and equipped with basic skills. For instance, Japan has made efforts to invest in university education related to technology which contributes to a great number of prominent inventors in this country.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why I enunciate the idea that this development is unfeasible/not viable. Initially, due to different levels of students’ competence, it is tough to offer equal chances for all students. It is obvious that students having cognitive impairments or being lazy cannot receive the same university education curriculum. Additionally, the shortage of lecturers and facilities when a massive number of learners going to universities should also be mentioned. To be specific, some nations in Africa such as Southern Sudan is still in war, so they would very much like to solve problem of starvation and insecurity rather than invest in university education.