It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that governments of countries around the world cannot afford enough educational facilities for an increasing number of individuals at young age and also, it is not necessary to provide universities for all young people. While countries are in need of well-educated young people, I agree with the idea that it is impossible and nearly useless to put up universities for the majority of students.

On the one hand, not all young people want to put themselves through universities. Some individuals like to take lower level classes of education because they do not meet the criteria of most universities. In Vietnam, there are high proportion of students who take part in part-time courses in order to get certificates for their job’s requirement. For example, for low quality job such as taxi drivers, construction workers, tailors, etc , companies still require some related certifications. In addition, there are other students who can find jobs after high school graduation so they do not need to go to universities for studying.

While the two mentioned ideas illustrate that it is unnecessary for countries to provide universities for students, the most important reason is that building up institutes for the rising number of young people is an impossible task for governments. Reports show that there were up to 50 percent of Vietnam population demanding university places in 2016. That substantial number of students is a big problem for the government.

On the other hand, it is no doubt that countries need to put up more institutes for young individual because they are the future workforce. The higher level they study their occupations, the better contribution from these people in the future.

In conclusion, while countries need to provide university places for students to educate high-skilled workers, I believe putting up high level educational facilities for all young people is neither possible nor useful for the governments.