It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it is not only impossible but also useless for a nation to provide the accessibility of tertiary education for a large percentage of young people. I completely agree with this statement for some reasons.

There are a variety of reasons why it is impossible for a country to provide all young people with access higher education. First reason is that the majority of youngsters are not able to afford tuition fees. College and university require young students to learn from experiments, purchase modern equipment with high expenditure. Therefore, children who are from remote and rural areas have tendency to drop out of college because of the incredible pressure of spending on tuitions at school. Furthermore, the widespread of university exacerbate burden on the national budget because the government must subsidise for all university of the country. As a result, the governments do not have the capability of investing in other priorities such as public healthcare systems or residential accommodation.

At the same time, I believe that it also does not seem useful for the whole country since the government take into consideration to the needs of both the youth and the economy. Firstly, graduating after tertiary education is no guarantee that students will become successful and contribute to the growth of the nation. For instance, in developing countries, a large number of student choose to attend vocational training because it gives them countless opportunities as well as job security rather than those who pursue higher education. Secondly, the accessibility of college can lead to the imbalance in the workforce that would damage the economic structure because university graduates have a little chance to choose jobs such as working in factories.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the supplying entry to tertiary education is both impossible and useless for a higher proportion of young people.