It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advance of transportation, the number of travelers has been on the rise for the past decade. Many people believe that we can acquire different customs through books or surfing from the internet. From my perspective, the benefits of travel around the world to learn about the culture far outweigh its disadvantages.

First of all, it is an undeniable fact that learning culture by travel to another country is a source of fun. In modern society, we suffer from stress and anxiety, traveling to a foreign country not only can we relieve stress in our daily life, but we also gain first-hand experience of other cultures. For instance, when we were a student, teacher taught us different kind customs of countries on the book; however, we forget all of them now, as we lack practical experience to broaden our knowledge.

Admittedly, some people could argue that the tourist might disrespect to local culture and threaten the local customs and traditions. Nevertheless, we are a global society, international tourists can through books and films learn about local customs and etiquette to avoid causing tensions and conflicts. Even more importantly, though, when international tourists build understanding and trust with local people, this world can reduce racial misconceptions due to a lack of understanding.

By way of conclusion, I would once again like to firmly reassert my opinion that travel is a multi-sensory experience; therefore, we cannot just learn anything on the book or internet, we should explore the local culture by ourselves, trying to expand our horizons by travel.