It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, more and more people have been able to visit distant natural places for researching and exploring. While this trend is advantageous in a few aspects, the disadvantages are more significant

there are some benefits of traveling and researching in remote locations. Firstly, these isolated natural places play a significant4 role in researching world climate. For example, in the South Pole, researchers could take a measure of the rising sea-level when the ice melted due to the increasing global temperatures. As the result, these findings help in predicting future climate change and providing information for policymakers. Secondly, in terms of tourism, visitors have opportunities to explore new creatures and natural occurrences that they have never experienced before. Furthermore, adventures to distant natural environment will also raise people’s awareness of preserving their surroundings.

However, the drawbacks of the increasing number of visitors to these places are significant, outweighing the benefits. An important factor is that human activities may cause devasting effects on the environment. For example, there will be significant environmental pollution stemming from the disposal of litter from ships. Such activities also may harm the natural habitats of animals. Consequently, these animals do not find a place to live and eventually may be on the verge of extinction. Another reason is that people may face difficulties in securing accommodation and food when traveling to uninhabited places. In addition to this, people may catch strange diseases which are caused by unknown bacteria.

In summary, researching and exploring distant locations are associated with many shortcomings which far outweigh the benefits. For these reasons, it is recommended that traveling to distant natural environment be restricted.