It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects.

What are the causes? And what will be effected on society?

In recent years, many countries have witnessed a decline in the number of students taking up science subjects. In my opinion, there have been several explanations for the inadequacy of science students and this situation has had undoubtedly negative impacts on the general development.

The main reason leading to the lack of students in science field is that science is considered as the most highly demanded area. First, not all individuals are able to absorb science knowledge, not to mention the possibility of achieving success. Second, even if a person is extraordinarily well qualified to pursue this field, he or she has to invest a great deal of effort from time to energy in it. To take medical students as a classic example, they must spend nearly 13 hours daily on average in the lab to conduct experiments. This instance makes it clear how demanding it is when being involved with science.

This current problem definitely has had adverse effects on the labour market segmentation. The proportion of the population trained in science areas cannot meet the number of workers needed in some countries. As an inevitable result, there is an uncontrolled growth in the number of workforce in other sectors. In this case, the unemployment rate will increase dramatically and the nation, as well as the global economy, can be damaged. In addition, not enough scientists also leads to the lack of breakthroughs which can benefit human beings in all aspects from healthcare to technology.

In conclusion, the characteristics of science such as the difficulty level and the investment demand are the main obstacles contributing to the lack of students doing sciences. In the long run, unless this issue is addressed, the community will have to face an unbalanced development.