It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects.

What are the causes?

And what will be effects on society?

Science plays a significant role in human beings life. However, it seems that in various countries, the number of students pursuing this field is inadequate and it can result in many issues in our society.

There are a number of reasons accounting for this scarcity of science students. Firstly, it is clear that as a result of the huge amount of knowledge, studying science subjects requires many factors, such as intelligence, concentration, diligence, and patience. For example, it can take hours to solve a difficult Mathematic exercise, so not everyone can be patient and pay attention to solving this. Moreover, unlike students in other fields like economics as well as education, science students may take a risk of unemployment after graduation. Because its fundamental characteristic is researching, almost science graduates have a tendency to work in laboratories, while the numbers of science laboratories and scientists in each laboratory are limited.

The lack of science students in some countries can bring several negative effects. Since the workforce in the science field is inadequate, which results from the scarcity of students, there would be fewer advanced scientific inventions in the future. As a result, technological and economic developments in these countries can be seriously influenced, because almost every progress in our society relies on the scientific advance. In addition, in the distant future, it can lead to the insufficiency of science teachers, who deliver knowledge and also inspire people to pursue this field. Therefore, the number of students choosing science as a major may reduce.

In summary, because of several causes, few students study science subjects in many countries, which would lead to many consequences in our society.