The number of plants and animals is declining. Explain this problem and suggest some solutions.

The decrease in the number of plants and animals is one of the environmental problems facing humans nowadays. This essay will give explanations of this phenomenon as well as some viable remedies people can take to address this issue.

There are several reasons accounting for this problem. Firstly, the surge in the needs of products made from natural materials such as medicine, paper leads to an increase in cutting down trees and hunting animals for economic profits. For example, the fact that thousands of elephants are killed annually to get ivories, which are believed to be an effective medical cure despite not being proved, might cause the extinction of elephants some days. Secondly, the irresponsible disposal of industrial wastewater into the water resource without any treatments can cause the death of animals drinking or living in that poisonous water as well as plants because of the deterioration of soil where they are grown. Although a great deal of untreated waste is dumped every day, there are no efficient waste treatment systems and laws to resolve this problem, so poor animals and plants still suffer from diseases.

People should take steps to deal with this issue led mainly by humans’ irresponsibility for nature. One of the most feasible solutions is enacting new laws that fine or even sentence someone who illegally cuts down trees and hunts wild animals for individual benefits. Moreover, politicians should introduce environmental taxes for industrial factories holding accountable for the decline in the number of plants and animals. The money gotten from the taxes should be spent on developing waste treatment technology so that animals and plants would consume clean water and not suffer from illness anymore. Finally, the government should raise the public’s consciousness in protecting natural species by encouraging citizens to participate in environmental campaigns that save endangered animals, and reduce the volume of paper used to diminish the number of trees cut.

In conclusion, the fall in the number of natural species is caused by some factors, and humans should make a contribution to addressing that serious problem.