It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject.

What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

Some countries have reported that several students decide not to have science as their subject in their academic schedules. The result may come from the nature of the subject which seems to be boring for a student and consequently, it may lead to limitations in practical scientific research.

Primarily, science is too boring for students to learn. The nature of this subject, initially, may be a little bit dry and is not attractive enough for those students. This is because the entire process of science is to discover and explore things that are difficult to understand for a student who is not interested in the field. Additionally, as a young person, student will see that science, in comparison with other subjects, is not exciting and they prefer to pursue their dreams and favorite courses than to absorb knowledge that is not useful for them as they perceive. This can be seen through a case of a Vietnamese student. Toc Tien, instead of accepting invitation of a notion university which is known for its ability in executing research in Vietnam, determined pursuing her dream to be a singer. As a result, she is now one of the most famous singers in Vietnam and is ambassadors of several local brands as well.

However, this problem may cause some negative effects on economic growth of a nation. Science, which sounds boring, is not only about searching for scientific programs, such as biodiversity or astronomy, but also about seeking solutions for the development of economy, human health, etcetera. This, as a result, comes to decrease in the development of a nation. Furthermore, shortening in workforce can lead to the interruption in the advancement of this field, since the old generation cannot pass their knowledge and findings to the next generations. Simultaneously, the young people will not have the ability to heritage and continually enhance the academic assets from their parents.

In conclusion, the decrease in the number of students who choose science as their course in the academic year will have numerous bad consequences, especially decline in economic growth. However, this trend may have its own reasons, including the dry nature of the course. Therefore, schools and the government should strategically plan the schedule for the subject which can actually catch attention of the students.