It is quite common for both parents in a family to work. Sometimes this is because they need two salaries to survive whereas at other times it is their choice.

What problems do you see in this situation? How does this affect the children and family life?

In today's expensive world, earning money is of paramount importance to most parents. For few others, money is not the only driving factor in their lives. There are disadvantages whether both parents work or a single parent takes the responsibility of earning.

The difficulties associated with working couples are, the upbringing of children and work-life balance. Nurturing children from an early age is a pretty high priority task for mother and father. However, if both spend long hours at office, it would become extremely troublesome to look after children. Further, lack of guidance could mess up lives of children due to absurd decisions that may be taken by innocent and impressionable minds. Next, imbalance between office time and family time can be attributed to the long working hours. This widens the gap among the family members and thereby weakens the bonding. As a consequence, they would not be able to enjoy family love and affection to the fullest potential.

On the other hand, there are few obstacles to overcome even when if one of the parents do not work. Firstly, it creates financial insecurity for the future of the family. In present day world of high inflation levels, it is quite cumbersome to manage a family with low compensation. Further, this could result in debts which may become insurmountable after a period of time. Secondly, not engaging in an outgoing activity may make the life of a non-working person less interesting and often result in boredom. In some cases, spending idle time may create some kind of depression. In addition, people tend to become introverts and loose all their socializing skills over time.

To summarize, there are demerits to either situation whether both parents work or a single parent takes the financial responsibilities of the family. Each family need to assess their specific circumstances before making a choice regarding the second income.