It’s becoming more and more popular to have a year off between graduating from school and entering University. Point out the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In this day and age, education play a vital role in people’s lives. Many belive that there are more students who want to have a gap year before going to university. In this essay, I am going to discuss both pros and cons of this trend and give my own opinion.

On the one hand, there are two reasons why relaxing a year has its benefits. The first reason relating to this is that a year off gives numerous opportunities for students to learn new skills and prepare for the next years in university or college. For instance, students who want to become a clothing designer can use a gap year to learn the basics of painting and discover fashion. The second reason is that after more than ten years learning at school, a year off is necessary for students to relax and do some activities such as travel or get a part-time job to get experiences.

On the other hand, despite the given reasons, there is a main reason why people believe that having a year off is unnecessary. Many support the view that gap year can make students get distracted from their study. This is because students can get carried away owing to the excitement from travel or the income from their part-time jobs. Thus, they have no plan to have higher education. Taking China as an example, there are a number of teenagers who have graduated from high school prefer getting a job rather than going to acquire knowledge at university. As a result, this could lead to increasing citizens who have low educational outcomes.

Taking everything into consideration, it is clear that having a year off is bringing various benefits. However, from my point of view this trend also has some drawbacks hence people have to consider it carefully.