Undeniably,respect shown to senior citizens is often considered by many as an important indicator of a civilized society yet this is on the decline in many countries. In my opinion, lack of proper teaching at home and a paradigm shift towards a materialistic life are the reason for this trend. There are number of reasons for this lack of respect and it has certain effects also.

Beginning with, in regard to the declining respects for elderly people, the family bonding at home is to be blamed. The family values and bond are no longer important to the young generation these days as this is occurring due to generation gap. Moreover, multitude nowadays are too busy in their hectic schedules and when they come back at home they are exhausted too much that they are not able to interact with their elders.As a result, conflicts happen between them and olders do not get their deserved respect and amenities. On top of that, young generation in this era is more occupied with materialistic possessions than reading history and learning about their traditions and cultures. Consequently, they fail to understand how important it is to show respect to other members of the society, especially senior citizens.

Furthermore, among there are numerous consequences of this trend, the most severe one is the moral degradation of youth and they find it unnecessary to show proper respect to elder people.Apart from this, they will fail to teach their next generation anything about mutual respect and family value, they will suffer even more when they become old.Additionally, what children are learning from their elders, same they will follow.Finally, as a whole, the society would have selfish members who would not be able to maintain a social harmony.

To conclude, in this society the contribution of the senior citizens can not be ignored and that is why the young generation should show their respect and gratitude to them as well as should provide required facilities to old people.. The lack of respect towards the elderly is a great concern and to mitigate this problem, parents should teach their children morality and importance or family bonds.