It is sometimes said that the countryside offers a high level of life, especially for families. What are the arguments for and against families choosing to live and work in the countryside, for example as farmers? What is your own view about this?

Some believe that settling as a family in rural areas to work and live improves the quality of life. However, there are a few arguments against the view as we will discuss in the following bodies.

On the one hand, countryside is believed to be backwater with fewer public amenities than city in the form of sport complexes, leisure and market places. Especially, as village depopulation leaves the country dwellers, settled families might become isolated. Added to this is the scarcity of colleges and schools, meaning children may need to travel for long distances for education. Finally, for both children and parents career options are limited, which probably leads to rural unemployment or poverty in the worst cases.

Conversely, life in rural territories offers rewards which go beyond material consideration. Living in a comparatively simple life with the abundance of resources, wildlife forestry and water bodies can be a primary example of this. Lots of locals in the areas live at least at a subsistence level through being self-sufficient smallholders and stay away from the influence of the wider economy, which afflicts city dwellers. Lastly, as technology enables children to undertake distance learning and remote viewing, they should be less isolated from current life.

All in all, it is admitable that living in countryside might have few number of facilities to live on high standards of life. Nevertheless, there are certain advantages of the life in villages such as self-sufficiency, resources and environmental awareness which can probably exceed the expectations of settlers.