We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should
only be concerned with our own communities and countries.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?
People have different views about the role and function of museums. In my
opinion, museums can and should be both entertaining and educational.
On the one hand, it can be argued that the main role of a museum is to
entertain. Museums are tourist attractions, and their aim is to exhibit a
collection of interesting objects that many people will want to see. The
average visitor may become bored if he or she has to read or listen to too
much educational content, so museums often put more of an emphasis on
enjoyment rather than learning. This type of museum is designed to be
visually spectacular, and may have interactive activities or even games as
part of its exhibitions.
On the other hand, some people argue that museums should focus on
education. The aim of any exhibition should be to teach visitors something
that they did not previously know. Usually this means that the history
behind the museum’s exhibits needs to be explained, and this can be done
in various ways. Some museums employ professional guides to talk to
their visitors, while other museums offer headsets so that visitors can listen
to detailed commentary about the exhibition. In this way, museums can
play an important role in teaching people about history, culture, science
and many other aspects of life.
In conclusion, it seems to me that a good museum should be able to offer
an interesting, enjoyable and educational experience so that people can
have fun and learn something at the same time.