We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree

Some people believe that we should not help people in other countries as long as there are problems in our society. I disagree with this point of view and I believe that we should try to help as many people as possible.

On the one hand, I can understand why some people believe that we should prioritize our local communities for helping. In all countries, there are some individuals who are impoverished and disadvantaged in some way. It is difficult for many people to see that their neighbors or fellow citizens are in a hard situation. Therefore, it is natural they think that it is their responsibility to help poor individuals in their own country first. To make this happen, there are some possible ways for rich people to support their poor counterparts. For example, they can do some volunteering activities, from donating and distributing clothing to serving free food in a soup kitchen. Also, they can help such people with money. In this way, people can ensure that most poor residents in their country are supported.

However, I claim that we are also committed to help people who are in need beyond the national borders. In some countries, problems that people usually face are much more serious than those in our local community, and sometimes local problems can be solved easily. Most of the time, a small donation for helping poor people in national boundaries can have a greater impact on improvement of a situation in the world level. For example, when children are dying from some curable diseases in some African countries, governments and people in rich countries can save many lives by sending vaccine and play an important role in distinction of dangerous illnesses.

In conclusion, in my view, it is true that we cannot help everyone and each person can have a positive role according to her/his abilities. All people have to try to help their local charities but national boundaries should not stop them from helping impoverished people in other countries.