Traffic on roads has become a problem in nearly every country in the world. What can be done to reduce the amount of traffic at a society level? What could individuals do to help?

Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many countries. There are several reasons why this is the case, and we can be helped the traffic flow by controlling these reasons. Also, people can easily take steps to decrease the amount of traffic.

Different factors are to blame for the creation of traffic. One of the reasons is the use of private cars instead of public transport. Nowadays, many people tend to drive to go anywhere they want. As a result, we witness the increasing numbers of cars on the roads, which can cause traffic. The solution to controlling this situation is to encourage people to use different types of public transport, such as buses, metros, and taxis. Also, some environmentally friendly forms of transport, like bicycles, should be offered to individuals. By riding bicycles, people can help not only reduce traffic and pollution but also improve their health. People can play an important role in reduction of traffic by using public transportation and cycling to work. Also by respecting driving rules they can take a big step in this subject.

Another problem is related to road works and double parking. These activities can cause blockages and keep people in traffic. To solve this problem, officials have to consider special rules and working hours for road works; for example, these activities should be done at night when commuting is in the lowest state. Also, police must financially fine drivers who left their cars on the street without paying attention to this subject, whether or not they disturbed others.

Other solutions that can calm traffic are providing special lanes for some kinds of public transport, such as buses, and creating more underpasses and overpasses. Also, streets and roads can be widened to ease traffic.

In conclusion, there several constructive solutions that can be addressed for solving traffic, and a part of this problem can be managed by people that I mentioned above.