It is suggested that all the young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

Nowadays, with rise in population, the inclination in various problems in society is also witnessed. As responsible citizens of a progressive society, there is often an expectation bound to all the young adults that they should get involved in unpaid work to assist people in their community. Although there are drawbacks to such activities, but doubtlessly these are outweighed by the benefits.

On one hand, the drawbacks associated with the voluntary work by youth primarily include the time that a young adult would put in helping people. To enumerate, this precious time could be used efficiently in enhancing current skills, developing new skills, strengthening educational qualifications and then applying for competitive and high status jobs. Moreover, youth is that stage of life that allows enjoyment without being tied down with the responsibilities that arise with age. In other words, spending the little leisure time that they get in helping the community would steal from them the pleasures of exploring their individuality.

On the other hand, providing unpaid help to people in the community also comes with significant advantages. Firstly, the young adults of today become the leaders and innovators of tomorrow. Learning the value of moving forward today while helping others to move forward, provide better understanding of true progress and success. Also, they learn to empathize with each other, be sensitive to each other’s needs and make choices that benefit one and all. This in turn also helps communities prosper. As people in such societies are able to reach out to each other in case of need, neighborhoods and cities could hopefully become better places to live in and this is precisely needed in society today.

To sum up, it is evident that the benefits are greater than the drawbacks. The requirement to undertake community service must be a key part of the life cycle of young adults and encouraged wherever possible.