It is true that people who have a reference for reading rather than watching TV usually have more lively imaginations and sharped language skill. While many people oppose to this idea, I strongly agree with this view.

On the one hand, I advocate that reading is more beneficial than watching videos in terms of boosting the creativity and expanding the vocabularies. Firstly, when reading, people are forced to imagine everything by themselves. This would stimulate people's brains because they have to visualize the characters and plot of the stories. Regarding language skills, being engrossed into books could help teenagers expend their vocabularies through strange and beautiful words written in those books. Besides, students could learn different grammatical structures and then apply them to their writing styles.

On the other hand, I would argue that watching TV is a less effective way in improving creativity and sharpening language skill. While seeing ready-made images on screens, people tend to use their imagination very little. Furthermore, dialogue of the movie is usually spoken at a fast speed which means people do not have much chance to absorb the information the directors want to convey. Finally, television is full of advertisements these days which could distract viewers from comprehending the main story. This makes it even more difficult for people to enhance language skills and strengthen their imagination.

In conclusion, while a number of people enjoys watching TV more than reading books, I personally believe that people who read books for enjoyment would develop their creativity better and learn new vocabularies more productive.